jump to navigation

The Choice is Yours October 31, 2010

Posted by TheIntentionalSage in Nature, Visions.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Fivolia (pronounced fih-voh-lee-uh) was walking with his grandmother down the path. His grandmother had recently gone blind, so she was having a hard go of things and because of this, Fivolia did his best to tell his grandmother what he was seeing. He really felt very bad for her and wanted to make sure that she could still enjoy things even though she couldn’t see. It was clear in the tone of Fivolia’s voice, too, that he was almost worried for his grandmother. They moved in some semblance of paired-ness, with no real destination in mind – that he knew of.

As he kept on walking, he continued to look over at his grandmother and almost sigh. While there wasn’t exactly an audible sound, being that she was as old as she was and having been part of the planet for so long, she knew how he felt. All of a sudden, his grandmother stopped, prompting Fivolia to ask, “Why did you stop?”

To which she replied, “why haven’t you started? For the last 2 weeks that it seems that I have been unable to use my eyes to their full capacity, you have treated me like I was fragile, like you’d break me or something. I’ve been around a long time, Fivolia, and I’ve seen lots of things. I’ve seen lots of things. Just because I can’t use my eyes doesn’t mean that I won’t be able to see things anymore. Just because I don’t see things doesn’t mean I can’t use my wonderful imagination to dream up what things look like all around me. Like I said, I’ve seen lots of things in my life and with you telling me how things look, even in your unintentional gloomy tone, I can still picture what things look like all around me.”

“Wow, grandma, I didn’t realize…”

“Don’t worry about it, Fivolia. The answer to this is quite simple just as the answer to life is quite simple. It’s all a matter of choice, right? I could stand here and be all doom and gloom, just like you were a second ago. I could huff and puff at the injustice that my eyes seem to have stopped working for the time being. I could be outrageously cruel to you and those around me, including this lovely forest we stand in. But no. That’s not how I want to do it. Happiness, love, joy… it’s all a choice, and why would anyone choose against that kind of line-up? Given the choice that one can be happy, should one just choose to be happy, why wouldn’t I choose that option?” Fivolia seemed a bit surprised by this soliloquy. His grandmother went on.

“When I was your age, many, many years ago, I made a choice. I made a choice that no matter what life brought my way, I was going to be happy and joyful about it. I made this choice, Fivolia, because I knew it was the only thing that I had any control over – my feelings about something. Everything else, I am somewhat choice-less, but not with how I feel. How I feel, that’s all about me. That’s something I can control. I can be joyful and happy whenever I want and no one can stop me. Not me losing my sight, not you being doom and gloom, not the rain, not the sun, nothing. I am joyful because I choose to be. You can be joyful to, the choice is yours.”

Comments»

1. Brown Eyed Mystic - October 31, 2010

Beautifully said, Sage. I am with Grandma, the choice is indeed ours.

Thanks for the lovely share.

-BrownEyed

TheIntentionalSage - October 31, 2010

Always a pleasure, BrownEyed. 🙂

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage

2. timethief - October 31, 2010

This resonates with me. The shortest path to true happiness is found through making conscious choices. To be happy one has to organize their life, take responsibility for their life and do things which lead to happiness.

I have learned that the creation place for happiness dwells in deep within me. Nothing external provides more than passing pleasure. However, when I am conscious in meditation my fears and worries disappear and I am truly happy. I have learned to carry over that into my every day life. By remaining in a mindful state the happiness choice is an easy and very natural one to make.

I make the choice to be happy minute by minute, hour by hour and day by day. In the present moment – conscious and truly alive.

I’m so glad I dropped in to read your wisdom.
Loena peace be with you,
TiTi
P.S. my personal blog is at thistimethisspace.com

TheIntentionalSage - October 31, 2010

Ahh – TimeThief – thanks so much for your very heartfelt comment. Truer words were never spoken: “One has to… do things which lead to happiness.” Often times we come across people who, metaphorically, would rather bang their head against the wall than go around it.

Thanks for leaving your personal blog in the post-space. I think it’s much more up the same avenue as Imagine Into Being as opposed to your site about learning how to blog. 😉

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage

3. Nandhini - October 31, 2010

What a beautiful message! I exactly had to read these words at this moment of my life. God just guided me to this post. Am grateful to you!

TheIntentionalSage - October 31, 2010

It’s so wonderful how the universe knows just where we need to go at just the right time! I’m pleased to know that these words came at a serendipitous and fortuitous time for you. 🙂

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage


Leave a Reply

