jump to navigation

Happening Without Realizing October 8, 2010

Posted by TheIntentionalSage in Nature, Visions.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

As I walk along the shore I can feel the sand cascading between my toes. The sand feels warm from the sun that has been baking it for the better part of the morning and afternoon. Gently placing one foot in front of the next, my ears are met with the sound of waves cresting.

Stopping to watch, I see the surf rolling up the beach and back down again, leaving a trail of white foam in its wake. The white foam rests delicately on top of the sand as the water rejoins itself as part of the ocean. The foam gradually falls through into the wet sand and I am struck by how poetic and unattached it appears. The water, as foam, isn’t afraid that it will get left behind. It knows that it will soon meet the rest of its family once it reaches ‘the other side’ of the wet sand that it rests on. The foam will gradually makes its way through the wet sand and join itself when the next wave of surf hurries up the beach, where it will then leave part of itself on the sand. An amazing process right before my very eyes were nature illustrates to me how easy it is to let go and trust. Nature lets go and trusts that its self, friends, or family, will be there to catch them.

My attention is distracted by the words of the nearby dogs. They appear to be playing with each other and ‘speaking’ to each other in tones. They playfully bite at each other’s ears and roll around in the sand. I can feel the warmth spreading from my heart in watching this uncensored display of joy from nature.

In moving down the beach, my eyes are raised by the sea. Looking out on the water, I can see surfers blending with the waves as I remember blending with partners during Aikido class. Watching these surfers maneuver their way up and down the wave reminds me of Sensei talking to us about blending and moving ‘as one’ rather than two. In reflecting on this, I am reminded of Advaita teachings of “not two.” Quickly remembering the two dogs that I was watching earlier, I realize that this was another demonstration of “not two.” The two dogs moved independently, but it could easily be witnessed as two dogs moving as one in the form of play. Further back, still, in watching the foam, this was another display of “not two.” The foam, while appearing to be separate from the rest of the water, quickly rejoined in a matter of moments.

As I stand looking out at the lush mountains, I can’t help but laugh at what has happened in this short time during this walk. I came out, somewhat intention-less, and nature served me with a lesson that is worth remembering: “not two.” Nature tells me that I am not separate from it and it is not separate from me. Nature tells me that we are one. Nature speaks. I listen. Speaking. Listening.

Comments

1. Christina Cronk - October 8, 2010

This is just beautiful! I could visualize the entire thing, since I live in Florida and the beach is a natural part of my life. I love how vivid the picture in my mind is, all invoked by your writing. You have a wonderful gift!

I recently added a page to my blog called Traveling Toes, and you may be interested in seeing some of the photos there, as they too include walking in the surf 🙂

2. TheIntentionalSage - October 8, 2010

Thanks Christina. I intentionally (ha ha) took out some of the locational specifics, so that no matter where one was on the globe (so long as their was beach), it was relate-able. 🙂

I’ll have to pop on over in the next couple of weeks… I’ve been thinking of adding pictures to the “imaginings” for quite some time. This might spark some motivation for me to get the photo-snapper out of the closet.

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage

3. Brown Eyed Mystic - October 10, 2010

Just one word: Mesmerising

I wish I could know you in person someday. You’re that great an inspiration.

-B

TheIntentionalSage - October 13, 2010

I’m so glad you enjoyed it! It’s nice to know that I can translate the inspiration I feel in regards to topics like these through writing such that it can stir the same feelings in another.

If it is your wish, I don’t doubt that it will come true.

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

