jump to navigation

Listening is Vital to Your Being July 30, 2010

Posted by TheIntentionalSage in Nature, Visions.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

For some reason unbeknownst to the people that knew him, Grocha (pronounced grow-ka) was an exceptional listener. He wasn’t just the kind of person that listened well, he was really listening to what people had to say. At times, it almost startled the people that he knew. Sometimes, when he was listening to people and they were being very vague about their point or weren’t able to express themselves clearly (in their own terms), Grocha would be able to recount back to them what it was that they were trying to tell him. No one really understood why Grocha was such a good listener, just that he was. When people had to get things off of their chest, they went to Grocha.

Day after day, Grocha would listen to some of the thoughts, concerns, and feelings of the people who came to him. He wasn’t upset, angry, or distraught – seemingly ever. He would always be able to hold whatever it was that people brought to him. Days turned into weeks; weeks turned into months; months turned into years. He had been doing this for as long as people could remember. With most families, he was well into the second generation of people he listened to and with some families, he was even into his third generation. In the community that he lived in, Grocha was known as the person you went to if you needed someone to listen to.

~~~

Many years went by as Grocha did this, evident of him living through generations of families. One day, when he was listening to one of the young girls, Meeba (pronounced me-buh), something happened. When Meeba finished ‘talking’ to Grocha, she started to ask him questions about his life and how it came to be that he was the ‘listener’ for the community.

“Well, Meeba, it’s somewhat synchronistic how it happened. Some may say I was in the right place at the right time. Some may say it was an accident and some may say I shouldn’t do what it is that I do. I know that what I do is important work.”

“How do you know?” She responded quizzically.

“Have you ever known something before, Meeba? Something that you were so sure of. Something that you were so sure of that it was as if you could feel it or see it just as you see your hand when holding it out in front of your face. This is how I know, Meeba. This is how I know.” Meeba nodded and listened as Grocha continued. “When I first started doing this kind of listening for people, there was something inside of me that told me what I was doing was the right thing to be doing. At first, I wasn’t quite sure what this feeling was, but I just knew I had to keep doing it because there was a real visceral reaction to being a listener. It was as if this listening was good for my soul, body, mind, and spirit. Listening was akin to breathing. If I didn’t listen, it was almost as if I was depriving my body of breathing.”

“Listening was vital to your being.”

“YES! Exactly! I am not sure that this is the case for everyone, but I have a sneaky suspicion that it just might be. I’ve listened to thousands of people talk over the years and through these conversations, which probably number in the hundreds of thousands, I’ve learned a many great things.” Meeba waited with bated breath. “For me, listening engages my heart. When I listen to people, it is as if I am opening up some sort of gateway to my heart and in essence, the love and joy contained within it, and by listening to these people, I am allowing this love and joy to flow out from my heart and into their being. It took me many years to put words to what was happening, but this is what it is. In the beginning, I just knew that something was happening when I listened to people and I wasn’t sure what it was. As I got older, more mature, and had more experience in listening to people, I realized just what it was that I was doing. I was allowing the people speaking to be who they really are. I let them let their guards down and just be.”

Meeba sat back in herself and started to ponder what it was that Grocha was saying to her. He allowed people to be who they really were. He listened with his heart open and let the joy/love flow to the person he was listening to. Meeba thought that this was a rather admirable thing to do and she wondered why it was that Grocha was telling her all of this. Almost as if on cue, “I bet you’re wondering why it is that I’m telling you this, Meeba.”

“As a matter of fact, yes,” she laughed.

“After doing as much listening as I’ve done, it’s almost as if you can hear what people are thinking before they can. Meeba, the reason I am telling you this is because I can tell. Deep down in your being, you want to be a listener. I know that you’ve considered this a couple of times before, but they were only passing thoughts, to your mind, but to your being, it’s what is to be.”

Comments

1. maryrichardson - July 30, 2010

I love this post! What a great reminder about the value of listening, rather than talking. I think it’s very true that listening and listening well opens something special between two people. In my own case, I can feel a difference in my connection when I make a conscious effort to really “feel” what people say to me.

TheIntentionalSage - July 30, 2010

Mary,

That’s so wonderful that you can actually ‘feel’ the difference when you intentionally open up to someone and listen to what they are saying. Thanks so much for sharing. I hope that your sharing inspires others to respond in kind. 🙂

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage

2. 36x37 - July 30, 2010

What a lovely, heartfelt post. Listening really is a talent. Thanks for stopping by 36×37 yesterday, and thanks for sharing this story.

TheIntentionalSage - July 30, 2010

Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m just doing what I can with the power that I was given (the same power we were all given). 🙂

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage

3. CandyLite News - July 31, 2010

I definitely agree on the power of listening. You can learn so much if you are silent. Even the wind blowing has a story to tell. 🙂

TheIntentionalSage - July 31, 2010

That’s quite an eloquent phrase: “Even the wind blowing has a story to tell.” I appreciate your kind words. 🙂

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage

4. JacStar - August 4, 2010

I relate to his evolution in some ways, yet I am not a great listener!
Thanks for phrasing so eloquently what we all need to do more of….
Allowing others to speak is one thing, but to really listen is to feel what they are saying also.

Your thoughts provide a ‘better day’ for all those who read them!
Thanks J:o)

TheIntentionalSage - August 4, 2010

Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad that I reading this post was able to provide you with a ‘better day.’ Hopefully, they can inspire you to do the same for somebody else… ? Pay it forward is a great concept, isn’t it? 🙂

With Love and Gratitude,

The Intentional Sage


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

